Auburn-Opelika Info

AUBURN-OPELIKA (Lee County) INFORMATION

GENERAL

Calendar of Events:  http://www.aotourism.com/Calendar

City of Auburn:  (334) 501-7260   www.auburnalabama.org

Auburn Area Community Theatre: (334) 332-0881)      http://www.auburnact.org/

Auburn Chamber of Commerce:    (334) 887-7011        http://www.auburnchamber.com/

Football Accommodations: http://www.aotourism.com/Football/

City of Opelika (334) 705-5150    www.opelika.org

Opelika Chamber of Commerce:  (334) 745-4861       http://www.opelikachamber.com/

Auburn-Opelika Tourism/Calendar of Events:    (334) 887-8747 or (866) 880-8747   http://www.aotourism.com/Calendar/

Auburn-Opelika News: (334) 749-6271          http://www.oanow.com/

Auburn-Opelika Weather: http://www.wunderground.com/US/AL/Auburn.html

Lee County Government  ( 334) 749-7141   www.leeco.us

 

SCHOOLS:

Auburn City Schools: (334) 887-2100  https://www.auburnschools.org

Auburn Private School:  Lee-Scott Academy (334) 821-2430  http://www.lee-scott.org/

Opelika City Schools:(334) 745-9700 http://www.opelikaschools.org/

Opelika Private Schools: Trinity Christian School (334) 745-2464http://tcsopelika.org/

Lee County Schools:  (334) 705-6000  http://www.lee.k12.al.us/

 

PARKS AND RECREATION

Auburn Parks and Recreaction: (334) 501-2930  https://www.auburnalabama.org/parks/

Opelika Parks and Recreation: (334) 705-5560 http://www.opelika.org/opr/

Kreher Preserve & Nature Center (Formerly Forest Ecology Preserve) :http://wp.auburn.edu/preserve/
 

UTILITY:

Alabama Power:   (334) 502-2694/(800) 245-2244     www.alabamapower.com

Auburn Water Works: (334) 501-3050/(334) 501-7292    www.auburnalabama.org

Opelika Light & Power:  (334) 745-5170    www.opelika.org

Opelika Water:  (334) 705-5500   www.opelika.org

Beauregard Water Authority:    334) 749-4900   

Loachapoka Water:   (334) 887-3329   www.lwawater.com

Alagasco:  (334) 887-4800/(334) 4839   www.alagasco.com

Charter (cable)   (888) 536-2223     www.charter.net

Knology (cable)  (887)-566-5649/(334) 521-7000   www.knology.com

DirectTV Satellite    (888)777-2454     www.directv.com

Dish Network Satellite  (888) 825-2557  www.dishnetwork.com

AT&T U-Verse  (877) 525-1717   www.att.com/u-verse

Bell South  (888) 757- 6400  www.bellsouth.com

AT&T  (877)-252-1717     www.att.com

 

COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY

Auburn University:   (334) 844-4000  www.auburn.edu

2015 Auburn University Football Schedule: http://www.auburntigers.com/sports/m-footbl/sched/aub-m-footbl-sched.htm

Southern Union State Jr. College:  http://www.suscc.edu/

 

STATE PARKS

Chewacla State Park:  (334) 887-5621 http://www.alapark.com/chewacla-state-park

 

HEALTH CARE

East Alabama Medical Center:  (334) 749) 3411 http://www.eamc.org/

 

ENTERTAINMENT/MISCELLANEOUS

Jule Collins Smith Museum of Fine Art: http://jcsm.auburn.edu/

The Hotel at Auburn University and Dixon Conference Center: http://www.auhcc.com/

Carmike Cinemas (Wynsong 14): http://www.carmike.com/ShowTimes/City/Auburn/AL

Carmike Cinemas (Tiger 13): http://www.carmike.com/ShowTimes/City/Opelika/AL

Cyber Zone: http://www.cyberzone334.com/

East Alabama Performing Arts: http://www.eastalabamaarts.org/welcome/opelika-center-for-the-performing-arts/

Calloway Gardens: http://www.callawaygardens.com/

Lee County Association of Realtors: http://www.leecorealtors.org/

Lake Harding: http://www.lakeharding.com/

 

RESTAURANTS

 Top places to eat in the Auburn and Opelika area. Enjoy everything from casual dining, specialties to fine dining. These independent restauranteurs and talented chefs have created exceptional establishments with specialty dishes you'll find nowhere else in the world. Among these listings you'll find something suitable for every taste and budget - whether it's a downtown student haunt or a white tablecloth dining room with a 300-bottle wine list. Our restaurants have been featured in Southern Living, Gourmet, and Wine Spectator, just to name a few, and we're pretty proud when the world discovers what we already know. From tapas to tacos, and squash to sushi, make your trip especially memorable when you visit these Auburn-Opelika legends.

Acre 334-246-3763    http://acreauburn.com/

Amsterdam Cafe  334-826-8181  http://www.amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Ariccia 334-844-5140   http://www.auhcc.com/dining/ariccia-auburn-restaurant

Barbeque House  334-826-8277  http://www.barbecuehouse.com/

Cafe 123  334-737-0069   http://www.cafeonetwentythree.com/

Hamilton’s 334-887-2677   http://www.hamiltonsonmagnolia.com/

The Hound Bar & Restaurant  334-246-3300   http://www.thehound-auburn.com/

Jimmy’s  334-745-2155    http://www.jimmysopelika.com

Jule Collins Smith Museum Cafe  http://jcsm.auburn.edu/cafe/

Maestro 2300    http://www.maestro2300.com/

MaFia’s Ristorante & Pizzeria 334-745-6266  https://www.facebook.com/MaFiasOpelika

Mrs. Story’s Diary Bar  334-749-1719  

Niffer’s  334-821-3118   http://www.niffersplace.com/

Overall Company  334-742-0100    http://www.overallco.com/

Pannie-George’s Kitchen  334-821-4142   http://www.panniegeorgeskitchen.com/index.html

Tacorita  334-821-9595  

Toomer’s Drugstore  334-887-3488   http://www.toomersdrugs.com/

Warehouse Bistro  334-745-6353   http://www.warehousebistro.com/dining/

For other wonderful restaurant options go to http://www.aotourism.com/Dining

SURROUNDING AREAS

Atlanta Braves: http://atlanta.braves.mlb.com/index.jsp?c_id=atl

Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson Airport: http://www.atlanta-airport.com/

Atlanta Zoo: http://www.zooatlanta.org

Birmingham Airport: http://www.flybirmingham.com/

Birmingham Zoo: http://www.birminghamzoo.com/

Desoto Caverns Park: http://desotocavernspark.com/

HGTV: http://www.hgtv.com/

Montgomery Z00: http://www.montgomeryzoo.com/

National Association of Realtors: http://www.realtor.org/

Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail: http://www.rtjgolf.com/grandnational/

Roosevelt State Park: http://gastateparks.org/FDRoosevelt

White Water Express: http://www.whitewaterexpress.com/

Wild Animal Safari: http://www.animalsafari.com/Wild_Animal_Safari.html

 

 

Voter Registration

  • To vote, you must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years old, mentally sound and not under conviction of a felony.
  • Voter registration must be completed 10 days before any election to vote in that election.
  • You may register to vote at the Voter Registration office, the driver’s license office, many libraries and certain other government offices.
  • For information on your nearest location, contact:

Lee County Voter Registration Office at (334) 737-3635

 

 

Automobile Information

DRIVER’S LICENSE

  • New residents have 30 days after establishing residency to obtain an Alabama driver’s license.
  • If you have a valid out-of-state license, you only have to take an eye test & have your Social Security card. If you have no license, you must also take a written exam and a road test. After testing, license fees are paid at the county Probate Office.
  • A driver’s license is valid for four years from the date of purchase.

Driver’s License Examination Office at (334) 742-9986 www.dps.state.al.us/public/driverlicense

 

 

TAGS/REGISTRATION

  • Newcomers must transfer their vehicle title and obtain their Alabama automobile license plates within 30 days of establishing residency.
  • The tag may be purchased and ad valorem taxes paid at the county tag office/probate office.
  • You will need current tag registration, mileage reading and title or name of lienholder, or copy of lease agreement.
  • Call for information on what you will need to bring.

Lee County Revenue Commissioner’s Office at (334) 737-3655   www.ador.state.al.us/motorvehicle/index.htms